---
title: How to publish pages and content?
description: "If you save a page or content, this is not yet a publication. You can edit pages or content until you are satisfied and actually want to take them live. [![Website - News - edit publish and view ](https://staging.churchtools.academy/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Website_News_edit-publish-and-view-.png)](https://staging.churchtools.academy/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Website_News_edit-publish-and-view-.png) ##…"
url: "https://staging.churchtools.academy/en/help/website-and-finder/pages/how-to-publish-pages-and-content/"
updated: "2026-06-16"
category: Website / Pages
---

# How to publish pages and content?

If you save a page or content, this is not yet a publication. You can edit pages or content until you are satisfied and actually want to take them live.

[![Website - News - edit publish and view ](https://staging.churchtools.academy/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Website_News_edit-publish-and-view-.png)](https://staging.churchtools.academy/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/Website_News_edit-publish-and-view-.png)

## (1) Save changes

This allows you to save all changes you have made to the page or content. However, changes only become visible to website visitors when you publish the changes.

**Note**

Points 2-6 only become visible after a page or content has been saved at least once.

## (2) Publish

By clicking on the *Publish* button, you have three options for each of which you can add a note:

- Publish the currently saved version: The changes in the working copy are applied to the entry and it is published immediately.
- Cancel publication of the page: The current revision will not be published.
- Create a new version of the page: A new version is created based on the working copy. The current version will not change.

Use the small arrow next to the button to select in advance whether you want to *go to the page list* after publishing, *remain in the editing window* or *create another new page*. By default, you are always taken to the page list.

**Note**

If you end up on the working copy after saving a version, even though you have not yet finished editing the version, then you did not select *Continue editing* before saving. In this case, call up the versions via *Show history* and restore them.

![Screenshot Call up the history of a page](https://staging.churchtools.academy/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/CleanShot-2025-12-30-at-12.36.39.png)

## (3) Live preview

You can follow all changes in real time in the live preview. We explain how to use it in the article [How to use the live preview?](https://staging.churchtools.academy/en/help/website-and-finder/pages/how-do-i-use-the-live-preview/)

## (4) Open URL

Opens the currently published version in a new tab.

**Note**

If the page or content has never been published, you will receive a 404 error message.

## (5) Versions

Here you can see at a glance whether a page or content has already been published or not and whether your current page/content contains unsaved changes.

## (6) Show history

Click on *Show history* to display an overview of all existing versions. If you click on a version, you can either publish it or restore it in order to edit it.

**Warning**

Any unsaved changes to the current version will be lost.

## Read more

- [How do I create and edit a page?](https://staging.churchtools.academy/en/help/website-and-finder/pages/14-how-to-create-and-edit-a-page/)
- [How do I use the live preview?](https://staging.churchtools.academy/en/help/website-and-finder/pages/how-do-i-use-the-live-preview/)
- [What types of pages are there and what makes them different?](https://staging.churchtools.academy/en/help/website-and-finder/pages/14-what-are-the-different-pages/)
